Klaus Minges (phD)

News from the Cape

list of publications


South Africa
South Africa


Mentoring gifted children

deutscher Text

In modern business the meaning of "mentoring" became restricted to the coaching of younger employees by senior staff. I prefer to use the word according to the classical definition "senior friend, giving all kinds of advice". This is about social competence, general knowledge and most of all, emotional support. These items would be helpful in business life as well, but who would acknowledge that? Thus I refer to youngsters, them being more open to new ideas. At this age, the influence of a mentor may last not only for a tax year but for the rest of their life.

Some underperforming children in school are just underchallenged, reacting unwise on their boredom. They might dispose of a whole spectre of gifts, not all of which are recognized or taken into account by their social environment. As school must focus on the average pupil, the teacher cannot support them more than others, though gifted kids would need as much care as underperformers. In this case, mentoring can solve the problem. "Guys of six feet and above must eat more than average, too."

The mentor is checking, taking care of the personal gift pattern and interests of the mentee, mediating between him/her and the peers and trying to correct false behavior and/or unfortunate conditions. Adding on the support of weak points, mentoring puts universal encouragement to the forefront, thus opening new horizons that would otherwise remain shrouded.

The first step is naming specific talents lying beyond average, thus creating a pattern of talents. These need not fulfil certain minimal standards; an unfortunate combination can cause damage, may the single talent being clasified as high performance or just average. The following gifts can turn out negative (in combination with other personal characteristics):

  • "classical" intelligence (language/logic)
  • Creativity
  • Divergent thinking

Special gifts are often combined with trouble inside the social environment, causing depression or aggression. After a good start in school, the performance of a child under psychological stress will decrease.

The obvious aim of the mentor is the wellbeing of his mentee, which means making sure he/she isn't underchallenged, may it be in school or in his/her own time. A specialist could add to specific disciplines, a "senior friend" however serves as a confident peer, bringing in some appreciation not found in the social environment. He may even level out a lack of family support.

The challenge for the mentee will be to bear with less gifted peers, when it comes to slow or flawed actions. The aim is gaining a positive approach to "normal" society, to prevent negative feelings about social interaction.

Additionally, a specialist checking on ADD is recommended.


Multi-talents and ADD

Papers (in german):

Signs of Giftedness
Steering creativity
Solving problems in a creative way (PDF, 156 kb)
Drugs and radicalism (PDF, 24 kb)
Adult ADHS (PDF, 44 kb)

Index | News | Publications | South Africa | Portrait

Mail: klaus@minges.ch · Web: www.minges.ch

Klaus Minges, Dr. phil.


Neues vom Kap
Kommunikation

Schriftenverzeichnis
Publikationen

Mentoring
Mentoring

South Africa
Südafrika

zur Person
Porträt

Mentoring für Schüler

english text

Vorbemerkung: Der Begriff Mentoring ist heute im Business degeneriert zu "fachliche Einzelberatung jüngerer Mitarbeiter". Ich halte mich an die klassische Definition "väterlicher Freund, nicht mit Ratschlägen geizend", Vermittler von Sozialkompetenz, Allgemeinwissen und vor allem auch emotionaler Unterstützung. Im Berufsleben wäre dies zwar auch bitter nötig, aber wer gibt das schon zu. Also wende ich mich an Jugendliche, die Neuem aufgeschlossener sind. Bei ihnen währt der Einfluß des Mentors nicht nur ein Steuerjahr lang, sondern ein ganzes Leben.

Kinder, die in der Schule unterfordert sind, verfügen oft über ein ganzes Spektrum von Begabungen, die von ihrer Umwelt nicht alle erkannt oder angemessen berücksichtigt werden. Da der Schulbetrieb auf den Durchschnitt aller Schüler ausgerichtet sein muss, kann der Lehrer sie nicht angemessen unterstützen, obwohl Mehrfachbegabte eigentlich die gleiche intensive Zuwendung bräuchten wie schwach Begabte. "Wer größer wird als einsachzig, muss ja auch mehr essen als ein kleiner."

Eine Lösung des Problems bietet das Mentoring. Der Mentor, die Mentorin widmet sich den persönlichen Begabungen und Interessen des Mentees, vermittelt zwischen ihm/ihr und dem sozialen Umfeld und versucht, Fehlverhalten und/oder ungünstige Lernbedingungen zu korrigieren. Während Nachhilfe oder Zusatzstunden gezielt Fachwissen vermitteln, steht beim Mentoring universale Anregung im Vordergrund, die neue Horizonte öffnen kann.

Als erster Schritt sollte geklärt werden, welche Talente es sind, die über dem Durchschnitt liegen. Es ist unerheblich, ob dabei bestimmte Minimalanforderungen erfüllt werden; eine unglückliche Kombination kann Schaden anrichten, ob sie nun Hochbegabung heißt oder nicht. Folgende Begabungen können sich (in Kombination mit anderen Persönlichkeitsmerkmalen) negativ auswirken:

Mehrfachbegabung geht oft einher mit Schwierigkeiten in Schule und sozialem Umfeld; das Kind wird depressiv oder aggressiv. Unter sozialem Stress verschlechtert sich trotz gutem Start mit der Zeit die Leistung.

Ziel des Mentors ist vordergründig das Wohlbefinden seines Mentees, was darauf hinausläuft, die in der Schule und vielleicht auch der Freizeit fehlende Auslastung sicherzustellen. Ein Fachmentor wird Spezialwissen lehren, das über den Schulstoff hinausgeht. Der "väterliche Freund" aber dient als Bezugsperson, die jenes Verständnis aufbringt, das nicht aus dem sozialen Umfeld kommt. Diese Unterstützung kann auch familiäres Unverständnis abfedern.

Aufgabe des Mentees wird sein, auf weniger Begabte Rücksicht zu nehmen, deren Fehler und relative Langsamkeit lächelnd zu ertragen. Ziel der gemeinsamen Arbeit ist der Gewinn einer positiven Einstellung gegenüber der normal begabten Umwelt, um das negative Erleben sozialer Kontakte zu vermeiden.

Unter Umständen muss auf ADHS geprüft werden, das Attention Deficit / Hyperactivity Syndrome (auch ADD genannt). Dafür sollte ein Spezialist konsultiert werden.

Weiter:

Zeichen der Begabung
Kreativität steuern

Mehrfachbegabung und ADHS

Papers:

Divergentes Denken (PDF, 25kb)
Argumentieren (pdf, 96 kb)
Kreative Problemlösung (PDF, 156 kb)
Drogensucht und Radikalismus (PDF, 24 kb)
ADHS bei Erwachsenen (PDF, 44 kb)

Motivation - soziales Handeln
(PDF, 31 kb)


Index | News | Publikationen | Südafrika | zur Person

Mail: klaus@minges.ch · Web: www.minges.ch